Local Organizing Committee:

Institute of Sociology of the Czech Academy of Sciences (IS CAS)

Institute of Sociology of the Czech Academy of Sciences

The Institute of Sociology of the Czech Academy of Sciences (IS CAS) was founded in 1965. It was shut down in 1970 and reopened in 1990. On 1 January 2007, like the other institutes under the Czech Academy of Sciences, the Institute of Sociology CAS became a ‘public research institution’. This important institutional change led to the foundation of the Council of the Institute of Sociology of the Czech Academy of Sciences and the Supervisory Board.    

The Institute of Sociology CAS applies and advances the most modern social science methodology and social theories. It conducts one-time surveys, ongoing empirical research, comparative studies, case studies, in-depth surveys, and public opinion polls. It uses modern quantitative and qualitative research methods and draws on the theory, data, and techniques of other research fields such as economics, political science, law, demography, social geography, and gender studies. The Institute of Sociology CAS also supports and carries out independent public opinion research and archives quantitative and qualitative data.

The research agenda of the Institute of Sociology CAS is centred on the sociological analysis of long-term social processes in Czech society in the context of European integration policies and the development of a knowledge-based society and human, social, and cultural capital.

The Institute of Sociology CAS is actively involved in international co-operative research. It participates in a number of European and international research programmes and is engaged in the regular exchange of scientific information among institutions in different countries. It also regularly conducts the studies for the International Social Survey Programme (ISSP) and the European Social Survey (ESS).

Alongside the institute’s basic research themes, work on which advances through projects conducted by the institute’s researchers, it is also a base for important projects conducted under the EU’s Sixth Framework Programme and other applied projects.


  • Tomáš Kostelecký (director of is cas)
  • Kateřina Bernardyová (member of local and regional studies department)
  • Petra Broskevičová (head of economic department and deputy director for economic development and infrastructure)
  • Michaela Vojtková (member of press and publications department)
  • Marie Čermáková (member of gender & sociology department)
  • Filip Lachmann (head of press and publications department)


ESA Executive Committee:

President: Carmen Leccardi


  • Ellen Annandale
  • Ruth McDonald
  • Frank Welz


  • Robert Fine
  • Tiziana Nazio
  • Luis Baptista
  • Helena Serra
  • Luigi Pellizzoni
  • Sokratis Koniordos
  • Ricca Edmondson
  • Tally Katz-Gerro
  • Krzysztof Konecki
  • Maria Carmela Agodi
  • Roberto Cipriani
  • Pertti Alasuutari
  • Anne Ryen